
 

 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE   DEC. 10, 2014 
 
NC ABC COMMISSION TAKES ACTION ON 59 VIOLATIONS  
AND ADJUSTS OPERATIONAL FEES 
 
RALEIGH – The North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission met today and 
took action on 59 permit violations, levying fines in excess of $70,000 and/or imposing 
suspensions of five days or more on businesses that hold permits to sell alcohol in the 
state. Fines are due Jan.2, 2015 and suspensions begin Jan.9, 2015.  

After presentations and speakers who were entirely in support of the proposal to adjust 
the spirituous liquor pricing formula, the Commission voted to adjust bailment fees down, 
bailment surcharge fees up and to increase the local board mark-up for retail purchase of 
individual bottles. The net effect of the adjustment for consumers is projected to be 
pennies per bottle. The adjustments, which go into effect May 1, 2015:  

 Increase local board mark-up from the current 39% level to 39.5 %. This is the 
first increase in nine years and allows the ABC boards to address the increased 
costs of doing business while delivering additional profits to their county and local 
governments. 

 Decrease the bailment fee 10 cents from the current charge of $1.60 to $1.50. 
This fee funds warehouse operations, which are under long-term contract and 
structured so that the fee collected to pay for the service decreases over the term 
of the contract.  

 Increase the bailment surcharge, which funds Commission operations, from the 
current charge of $0.80 to $1.40 per case. The 60 cent increase is projected to 
will bring in an additional $3 million a year to assist in funding the Initiative to 
Reduce Underage Drinking. 

In other business, the Commission: 

 upheld staff disapproval of a malt beverage product in three sizes and 
concentrations of alcohol, imported by Irokos Group. 

 approved a requested exemption by Bull Durham Beer Company. 

 approved beginning the mandated review of 04 NCAC 02R initial classifications. 

 approved a rules amendment to allow for point of sale display materials to be 
valued at up to $300.  

ABOUT THE NC ABC COMMISSION  
North Carolina is one of 17 states to regulate alcohol through a control system. Since 
1937, the North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission has provided 
regulation and control over the sale, purchase, transportation, manufacture, consumption 
and possession of alcoholic beverages in the state of North Carolina. The Commission 
oversees permits allowing alcohol sales by more than 18,000 retail outlets across the 
state. http://abc.nc.gov.  
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