
 

 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE          APRIL 8, 2015 
 
NC ABC COMMISSION APPROVES STORES REQUESTED BY 
CATAWBA COUNTY AND WAXHAW ABC BOARDS 
 
RALEIGH – The North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission met 
today and approved two proposed ABC store locations: 

 Catawba County ABC received permission to lease space and open a 
new store at 2537 HWY 70 SE Suites H, I, J in Hickory. This will be the 
11th store for the Catawba ABC Board. 
 

 The Waxhaw ABC Board ABC received permission to lease and open a 
store at 2528 Cuthbertson Road in Waxhaw. This store will replace the 
board’s existing ABC store located approximately 1.7 miles south at 1305 
N. Broome St.  

 
In other business, the NC ABC Commission received two exemption requests 
related to 18B-1116. One request was from Olde Mecklenburg Brewery, Great 
Wagon Road Distilling, and Broken Spoke LLC, to allow the owners of these 
businesses also to hold ownership interests in the other businesses. The 
commercial and retail businesses will operate separately. The second exemption 
request was from JR Motorsports to allow Oskar Blues Brewery to sponsor a 
race vehicle owned by JR Motorsports. Dale Earnhardt Jr. has ownership 
interests in JR Motorsports and in a retail restaurant that has ABC permits. He 
will not be the driver of the vehicle with the Oskar Blues logos attached, and he 
does not manage the Whisky River restaurant. The Commission granted both 
requests. 

The Commission also took action on 70 permit violations, levying fines in excess 
of $84,000 and/or imposing suspensions of five days or more on businesses that 
hold permits to sell alcohol in the state. Fines are due May 1, and suspensions 
begin May 8. 

ABOUT THE NC ABC COMMISSION  

North Carolina is one of 17 states to regulate alcohol through a control system. Since 
1937, the North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission has provided 
regulation and control over the sale, purchase, transportation, manufacture, consumption 
and possession of alcoholic beverages in the state of North Carolina. The Commission 
oversees permits allowing alcohol sales by more than 18,000 retail outlets across the 
state. http://abc.nc.gov.  
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