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NC ABC COMMISSION AUTHORIZES BULK WAREHOUSE LEASE, 
ACTS ON 105 HEARING CASES AND APPROVES TWO STORES  
 
RALEIGH – During its regular monthly meeting, the North Carolina Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Commission amended its contract for warehouse operations 
allowing for a lease of a second 200,000 square foot warehouse to handle bulk 
shipments to the state’s 168 local ABC boards. 

The ABC Commission has operated from its single state-owned 200,000 square 
foot warehouse for 27 years and shipped 4.6 million cases last fiscal year, up 
more than 1 million cases over the number distributed from the same facility a 
decade ago. According to information presented by ABC Administrator Mike 
Herring, leasing an additional warehouse to serve as a facility for shipping top-
selling items is expected to:  

• Increase frequency of delivery to smaller ABC boards, reducing problems 
of stores being out of stock; 

• Increase selection of items by 15 percent (presently there are 
approximately 1,700 items listed and kept as inventory in the warehouse) 

• Help the commission manage growth until a long-term warehouse 
capacity solution is possible; 

• Keep North Carolina’s per case delivery charge among the lowest in the 
nation at $1.65 per case. 
 

At today’s meeting, the commission authorized a five-year lease and an 
extension of the existing contract with LB&B Associates, which operates the 
current warehouse. The lease will add $1.7 million a year to provide for the 
receipt, storage and distribution of spirituous liquor in the state.  

“This increase reflects a cost of one quarter of one percent of the total $725 
million in annual sales of liquor in North Carolina, keeping us among the lowest 
per case delivery costs in the nation,” said Jon Williams, chairman of the NC 
ABC Commission. “Leasing additional warehouse space to accommodate the 
growing needs of local ABC boards and their retail customers is in keeping with 
Gov. Perdue’s direction to the ABC Commission in January to maintain the 
control system and to improve efficiency and customer service of our warehouse 
operations.”  

In other business, the three-member commission took action on more than 100 
violations and overturned the decision of an administrative law judge regarding   
the Hickory club, 5 O’Clock Somewhere.   
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Chairman Williams did not participate in the deliberations regarding the club 
since he had signed the orders suspending alcohol permits for 5 O’Clock 
Somewhere in January 2010. In May 2010, the Office of Administrative Hearings   
heard the case and directed that the club be allowed to hold ABC permits, 
pending today’s action by the ABC Commission; today’s decision revokes the 
ABC permits within 30 days of the business receiving the commission’s signed 
order. 

In addition, the commission: 

 Approved two store relocations requested by the Greensboro ABC Board 
for 4446-J US Highway 220, Summerfield, and 409 Pisgah Church Road, 
Greensboro.  The new stores will be located at 4548 US Highway 220 
Summerfield, and 305-A Pisgah Church Road, Greensboro; 
 

 Held a public hearing on the rules published in Volume 25, Issue 18 of the 
NC Register (04NCAC 02R .2001, .2002 and .2003); 
 

 Approved the recommendations of staff regarding the Publication of 
Proposed Permanent Rules; 
 

 Imposed penalties and fines of approximately $126,000 on 
representatives of retail bars, restaurants, groceries and clubs found to be 
in violation of ABC laws and rules. In addition to the fines, many of the 
violations resulted in suspensions of permits for five days or more. The 
fines are to be paid by May 6, 2011 with suspensions beginning May 13, 
2011. Fines benefit the local school systems where the violations 
occurred. 

 

ABOUT THE NC ABC COMMISSION 

North Carolina is one of 19 states to regulate alcohol through a control system. Since 
1937, the North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission has provided 
regulation and control over the sale, purchase, transportation, manufacture, consumption 
and possession of alcoholic beverages in the state of North Carolina. The commission 
oversees more than 25,000 permits allowing alcohol sales by more than 17,000 retail 
outlets across the state. http://abc.nc.gov                         ### 
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