
Article 9. 

Issuance of Permits. 

§ 18B-900.  Qualifications for permit. 
(a)       Requirements. - To be eligible to receive and to hold an ABC permit, a person must satisfy all 

of the following requirements: 
(1)        Be at least 21 years old, unless the person is a manager of a business selling only 

malt beverages and unfortified wine, in which case the person shall be at least 
19 years old. (June 26, 2019) 

(2)        Be a resident of North Carolina unless: 
a.         He is an officer, director or stockholder of a corporate applicant or permittee 

and is not a manager or otherwise responsible for the day-to-day operation of 
the business; or 

b.         He has executed a power of attorney designating a qualified resident of this 
State to serve as attorney in fact for the purposes of receiving service of process 
and managing the business for which permits are sought; or 

c.         He is applying for a nonresident malt beverage vendor permit, a nonresident 
wine vendor permit, or a vendor representative permit. 

(3)        Not have been convicted of a felony within three years, and, if convicted of a felony 
before then, has had his citizenship restored. 

(4)        Not have been convicted of an alcoholic beverage offense within two years. 
(5)        Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor controlled substance offense within two 

years. 
(6)        Not have had an alcoholic beverage permit revoked within three years, except where 

the revocation was based solely on a permittee's failure to pay the annual registration 
and inspection fee required in G.S. 18B-903(b1). 

(7)        Not have, whether as an individual or as an officer, director, shareholder or manager of 
a corporate permittee, an unsatisfied outstanding final judgment that was entered 
against him in an action under Article 1A of this Chapter. 

(8)        Be current in filing all applicable tax returns to the State and in payment of all taxes, 
interest, and penalties that are collectible under G.S. 105-241.22. This subdivision does 
not apply to the following ABC permits: 
a.         Special occasion permit under G.S. 18B-1001(8). 
b.         Limited special occasion permit under G.S. 18B-1001(9). 
c.         Special one-time permit under G.S. 18B-1002. 
d.         Salesman permit under G.S. 18B-1111. 

To avoid undue hardship, however, the Commission may decline to take action under G.S. 18B-104 against 
a permittee who is in violation of subdivisions (3), (4), or (5). 

(b)       Definition of Conviction. - A person has been "convicted" for the purposes of subsection (a) 
when he has been found guilty, or has entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, and judgment has been 
entered against him. A felony conviction in another jurisdiction shall disqualify a person from being eligible 
to receive or hold an ABC permit if his conduct would also constitute a felony in North Carolina. A 
conviction of an alcoholic beverage offense or misdemeanor drug offense in another jurisdiction shall 
disqualify a person from being eligible to receive or hold an ABC permit if his conduct would constitute an 
offense in North Carolina, unless the Commission determines that under North Carolina procedure 
judgment would not have been entered under the same circumstances. Revocation of a permit in another 
jurisdiction shall disqualify a person if his conduct would be grounds for revocation in North Carolina. 

(c)        Who Must Qualify; Exceptions. – For an ABC permit to be issued to and held for a business, 
each of the following persons associated with that business must qualify under subsection (a): 

(1)        The owner of a sole proprietorship;proprietorship. 
(2)        Each member of a firm, association or general partnership;partnership. 



(2a)      Each general partner in a limited partnership;partnership. 
(2b)      Each manager and any member with a twenty-five percent (25%) or greater interest in 

a limited liability company;company. 
(3)        Each officer, director and owner of twenty-five percent (25%) or more of the stock of 

a corporation except that the requirement of subdivision (a)(1) does not apply to such 
an officer, director, or stockholder unless he or she is a manager or is otherwise 
responsible for the day-to-day operation of the business;business. 

(4)        The manager of an establishment operated by a corporation other than an 
establishment with only off-premises malt beverage, off-premises unfortified 
wine, or off-premises fortified wine permits;corporation. 

(5)        Any manager who has been empowered as attorney-in-fact for a nonresident individual 
or partnership. 

(6)        Any manager or person otherwise responsible for the day-to-day operation of 
the business, if none of the persons listed in subdivisions (1) through (5) of this 
subsection are a manager or person otherwise responsible for the day-to-day 
operation of the business. (June 26, 2019) 

(d)       Manager of Off-Premises Establishment. - Although he need not otherwise meet the 
requirements of this section, the manager of an establishment operated by a corporation and holding off-
premises permits for malt beverages, unfortified wine, or fortified wine shall be at least 19 years old and 
shall meet the requirements of subdivisions (3), (4), (5) and (6) of subsection (a). 

(e)       Convention Centers. - With the approval of the Commission, the manager of a convention center 
may contract with another person to provide food and beverages at conventions and banquets at the 
convention center, and that person may engage in the activities authorized by the convention center's permit, 
under conditions set by the Commission. The person with whom the convention center contracts must meet 
the qualifications of this section. 

(f)        Procedure to Confirm State Tax Compliance. - Upon request of the Commission, the 
Department of Revenue must provide information to the Commission to confirm a person's compliance 
with subdivision (a)(8) of this section. If the Department of Revenue notifies the Commission that a person 
is not in compliance, then the Commission may not issue or renew the person's permit until the Commission 
receives notice from the Department of Revenue that the person is in compliance. The requirement to pay 
all taxes, interest, and penalties may be satisfied by an operative agreement under G.S. 105-237 covering 
any amounts that are collectible under G.S. 105-241.22. Chapter 150B of the General Statutes does not 
apply to a Commission action on issuance, suspension, or revocation of an ABC permit under subdivision 
(a)(8) of this section.  (1949, c. 974, ss. 1, 2; 1963, c. 119; c. 426, s. 12; 1965, c. 326; 1971, c. 872, s. 1; 
1973, c. 758, s. 2; c. 1012; 1975, c. 19, s. 5; 1977, c. 70, s. 19.1; c. 668, s. 3; c. 977, ss. 1, 2; 1979, c. 286, 
s. 4; 1981, c. 412, s. 2; c. 747, ss. 53, 54; 1981 (Reg. Sess., 1982), c. 1262, ss. 13, 14; 1983, c. 435, ss. 32, 
39; 1987, c. 136, ss. 7, 8; 1993, c. 415, s. 10; 1995, c. 466, s. 6; 2004-203, s. 25(a); 2014-3, s. 10.1(a); 
2019-49, s. 2.) 
 


